St. Valentine…..


         

     The Life of St. Valentine

   St. Valentine was an Orthodox Priest near Rome in about the year 270 A.D. Emperor Claudius II ruled at this time and required all able bodied men to go off to fight in the Roman Empire. Because most men were not willing to leave their families and sweethearts to fight, the Emperor instated a law that all marriages were to be postponed and engagements were to be broken off. Valentine, however, married couples in secret and soon gained the reputation of being a friend of sweethearts. The pagan Emperor soon found out and had him thrown into prison. While in prison the priest ministered to many people and prayed for the sick. Among those healed was a blind girl-the jailer’s daughter. Eventually the Saint fell in love with the girl and before being led out to execution he managed to write her one last note, a farewell message. He signed it “From your Valentine”. His last day on earth was February 14th.

Blessed St. Valentine, pray to God

                        for us!

(author unknown)

4 Responses to “St. Valentine…..”

  1. I usually don’t ordinarily post on many Blogs, yet I just has to say thank you… keep up the amazing work. Ok regrettably its time to get to school.

    • Thank you for your comment. I hope you will return and follow. Sign up to recieve my posts and I will work hard not to disapoint…..jt

    • I tried to email this:
      Hello.. I do not want to bother you. I was just wondering if you were
      a writer. I am starting a project and I have no formal education.
      Please stay in contact if you are feeling benevolent and please follow
      my work and tell me what you think. Share, share, share!!!!!! I need
      feedback. Thank you for your encouraging words. I will not write to
      you again unless you respond to my email…
      jt

  2. I’m so glad to have found your web page. My pal mentioned it to me before, yet never got around to checking it out until now. I must express, I’m floored. I really enjoyed reading through your posts and will absolutely be back to get more.

Leave a Reply

